Skip to content

NJIT physics professor wins 2023 Karen Harvey

picture: Bin Chen, affiliate professor of physics on the New Jersey Institute of Expertise, is the 2023 Karen Harvey Prize recipient.
view extra

Credit score: Bin Chen/NJIT

Bin Chen, affiliate professor of physics and researcher at NJIT’s Heart for Photo voltaic-Terrestrial Analysis (CSTR)has been awarded the 2023 Karen Harvey Prize from the Photo voltaic Physics Division of the American Astronomical Society (AAS) for “considerably advancing” our understanding of the basic physics driving the biggest explosions in our photo voltaic system — photo voltaic flares.

The Karen Harvey Prizeestablished by AAS’s Photo voltaic Physics Division in 2002 in reminiscence of photo voltaic physicist Karen L. Harvey (1942-2002), is awarded annually in recognition of a big contribution to the examine of the Solar early in an individual’s skilled profession.

An award ceremony might be held on the 2023 annual assembly of the Photo voltaic Physics Division of the American Astronomical Society, scheduled for the week of August 14 in Minneapolis, MN. Together with receiving the award, Chen will ship a plenary Harvey Prize Lecture on the assembly.

“I really feel extraordinarily honored to obtain this prestigious prize,” Chen mentioned. “On the similar time, I’m very happy that the trouble we’ve got put into this line of labor is acknowledged at such a excessive degree. These achievements wouldn’t be potential with out the help from lots of my fantastic colleagues and college students at NJIT and elsewhere, and I’m deeply grateful for that.”

“Already in his profession, Bin Chen’s contribution to our understanding of those vital photo voltaic occasions has been exceptional, and his management and mentorship within the subject has been exemplary,” mentioned Atam P. Dhawan, NJIT Interim Provost and Senior Government Vice President. “Bin’s collaborative efforts with NJIT analysis colleagues signify a few of the world’s main investigations of the Solar and explosive house climate phenomenon, and we could not be extra delighted that his unbelievable scientific contributions are being acknowledged with the Karen Harvey Prize.”

Since arriving at NJIT in 2016, Chen has led breakthrough analysis and improvement of latest radio observing strategies used for unraveling the complicated bodily processes on the coronary heart of photo voltaic flares — intense eruptions which might be triggered by the breaking and reconnecting of magnetic subject strains alongside the Solar’s floor.

Chen’s analysis has just lately integrated distinctive microwave observations of photo voltaic flare occasions captured by NJIT’s Expanded Owens Valley Photo voltaic Array (EOVSA) radio telescope, which have supplied an unprecedented glimpse into the “central engine” of those eruptions the place dramatic bursts of vitality are saved and launched, accelerating energetic particles to near-light velocity.

Insights from Chen’s work have implications for understanding the basic bodily processes underlying these ubiquitous explosive occasions throughout the universe, and for bettering house climate predictions and assessing how such occasions could affect Earth.

The Harvey Prize Committee cited Chen for “considerably advancing the examine of magnetic reconnection and particle acceleration in photo voltaic flares,” in addition to his “modern strategies to research photo voltaic flare observations … resulting in new insights in a number of areas of flare physics such because the termination shocks and measurements of magnetic fields and particles in reconnection present sheets.”

Along with his analysis contributions, the Prize Committee additionally acknowledged Chen for “distinctive management” as a mentor and collaborative group builder within the photo voltaic and house analysis neighborhood, and famous his instrumental position in growing the following era of photo voltaic radio telescopes.

At NJIT, Chen serves because the Director of the Utilized Physics Graduate Program and co-leads the college’s photo voltaic radio group, which operates EOVSA — a world-class radio telescope array devoted to photo voltaic physics analysis, positioned at Owens Valley Radio Observatory close to Huge Pine, California.

Amongst his different early profession honors and distinctions, Chen obtained the NASA/UCAR Jack Eddy Fellowship in 2013 and the Nationwide Science Basis (NSF)’s CAREER Award in 2017.

He’s at present serving as a panel member of the Nationwide Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Drugs’s Decadal Survey for Photo voltaic and Area Physics (Heliophysics) 2024-2033, and has beforehand served as a committee member of the Photo voltaic Physics Division of the American Astronomical Society (2019–2021). Chen’s analysis receives funding from NSF and NASA.

A full listing of AAS’s 2023 award and prize recipients may be discovered right here.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! should not answerable for the accuracy of reports releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing establishments or for using any data by the EurekAlert system.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *